In Texas, we need a car if we just want to get home or go to work. However, this also means that we need a car for social events. And, sometimes, after these social events, a regrettable mistake or a temporary lapse in judgment leads us to get in the car after drinking. What are the potential consequences of a DWI conviction?
The potential penalties for DWI offenses
According to the Texas Department of Transportation, the penalties for a DWI charge vary based on past convictions. For the first offense, the range of consequences is one or more of the following: 180 days in confinement, a temporary loss of your driver’s license or a fine of up to $2,000.
The second offense carries a more severe fine of up to $4,000, a loss of license for a maximum of two years and a jail sentence of possibly one year. The third offense carries the most severe of all punishments with a jail sentence up to a decade, a fine of up to $10,000 and loss of license privileges for up to two years.
There are additional state fines added to any of the above offenses ranging from $3,000 to $6,000. As such, the financial penalties alone are sufficient to cause stress to any Texan. You could also face additional charges if, at the time of the offense, you have a child under 15 in the vehicle, or another person becomes seriously injured or passes away as the result of the accident.
If you are facing charges, you do not have to face them alone
If you made a regrettable decision, it is stressful and worrying to think about the implications to your future (mentally, financially and personally). You can contact a Dallas, Texas, criminal defense attorney who can be an advocate for you and who understands that everyone deserves a competent defense counsel to assert and defend your rights.
Remember, even when you face arrest, you have rights. You do not have to answer any police questions without an attorney present. You have rights and do not have to defend them alone.