DUI/DWI

We Fight For You And Your Case

Following a driving under the influence (DUI) or a driving while intoxicated (DWI) arrest or citation, you may not know what your next steps should be. During such times of uncertainty, when many aspects of your future are hanging in the balance, don’t try to face it alone. The Law Office of Scott Mackenzie is here to guide you every step of the way.

When you hire our firm, you may benefit from a team of legal professionals who are passionate about protecting your rights and always have your best interest in mind. Our Dallas DUI/DWI defense attorneys have a diversified background in criminal law and many years of experience successfully negotiating pleas, arguing motions, and taking DUI and DWI cases to trial.

Contact Our Experienced Criminal Defense Attorneys

Learn more about the difference between DUI and DWI in Texas by contacting our experienced law firm. Get the legal help you need by turning to the Dallas DUI/DWI attorneys at The Law Office of Scott Mackenzie.

What is the Difference between DUI and DWI in Texas?

Understanding DWI Penalties in Texas

Understanding DWI Penalties in Texas

In Texas, the main difference between DUI and DWI charges pertain to the age of the driver.

  • DUI Charges- These charges fall under the Texas Traffic Code. If an individual is under the age of 21 and driving with any alcohol in their system below the legal limit, they may be charged with a DUI.

  • DWI Charges- These charges fall under the Texas Penal Code. If an individual is over the age of 21 and is driving with blood alcohol content (BAC) over .08, they may be charged with DWI.

Texas DWI penalties depend on a variety of factors such as age, license type, the presence of passengers, and other circumstances. A driver testing 0.15% or more over the legal limit of 0.08% faces more severe penalties for higher BAC.

Common DWI penalties include:

  • Fines and surcharges

  • License suspension or revocation

  • Jail time

  • DWI education and intervention programs

  • Community service

  • Higher rates for car insurance

DUI penalties are often not as serious as DWI penalties in Texas due to the fact that these charges are only issued to minors.

Charges for a DUI may include the following:

  • $500 fine

  • 40 hours of community service

  • Alcohol awareness classes

  • License suspension up to 60 days