Your Attorney Is A Phone Call Away

We believe in the importance of picking up the phone for our clients. Se Habla Espanol.

Protect Your Future From A DWI Charge

Following a driving under the influence (DUI) or a driving while intoxicated (DWI) arrest, you may not know what your next steps should be. During such times of uncertainty, when many aspects of your future are hanging in the balance, don’t try to face it alone. The Law Offices of Scott Mackenzie, P.C., is here to guide you every step of the way.

When you hire our firm, you may benefit from an experienced team of legal professionals who are passionate about protecting your rights and always have your best interest in mind. Our Dallas DUI/DWI defense attorneys have a diversified background in criminal law and many years of experience successfully negotiating pleas, arguing motions and taking DUI and DWI cases to trial.

What Is The Difference Between DUI And DWI In Texas?

In Texas, the main difference between DUI and DWI charges pertains to the age of the driver. DWI charges fall under the Texas Penal Code. If an individual is over the age of 21 and is driving with blood alcohol content (BAC) over .08%, they may be charged with DWI.

DUI charges, on the other hand, fall under the Texas Traffic Code. If an individual is under the age of 21 and driving with any alcohol in their system, they may face DUI charges. Learn more about the difference between DUI and DWI in Texas by contacting our experienced lawyers.

Understanding DWI And DUI Penalties In Texas

Texas DWI penalties depend on a variety of factors such as age, license type, the presence of passengers and other circumstances. A driver testing .15% or more over the legal limit of .08% faces more severe penalties for higher BAC.

Common DWI penalties include:

  • Fines and surcharges
  • License suspension or revocation
  • Jail time
  • DWI education and intervention programs
  • Community service
  • Higher rates for car insurance

DUI penalties are often not as serious as DWI penalties in Texas due to the fact that these charges are only issued to minors. Charges for a DUI may include the following penalties:

  • $500 fine
  • 40 hours of community service
  • Alcohol awareness classes
  • License suspension up to 60 days

Many people think that if their BAC is over the legal limit, they have no chance of defending themselves against DWI charges. That is simply not true. You have defenses available to you, and we will help you build a strong defense to fight your charges and protect your future.

Contact Our Experienced Criminal Defense Attorneys

Get the legal help you need by turning to the Dallas DUI/DWI attorneys at The Law Offices of Scott Mackenzie as soon as possible. You can either reach out using our online contact form or call us at 214-245-4625.